Quiet Book

I’ve been working on some project and finally it’s over! I made a Quiet Book for my friend’s daughter Daria, 2.5 years old.A Quiet Book is a fabric book with activities designed to keep your kid quiet during meeting, on a road trip, or any other time when little hands and minds need a distraction. Also this thing helps kids to master a variety kinds of clasps and to train their fingers. Here I will just show you my ideas and their implementation. Hope my experience will help you make your own Quiet Book.

I used:

  • Fabric and threads of different colors

  • Buttons

  • Ribbons

  • Laces

  • Thin rope

  • Zipper

  • Hooks & Eyes

  • Yarn

  • Baby shoes

  • Scissors

  • Needles

For 12 pages and for cover I used 16 equal-sized pieces of fabric. The rest patches were used for small details of Quiet Books and for the little dollThese baby shoes I used for lacing. I separated soles and sew shoes to the fabric page

On this page I made a maze with the bunny and carrot

For braiding I sewed girl’s head with colored hair strands

I chose a variety of buttons I put them on two pages for counting from 1 to 10

For exercise with a zipper I sewed a small house which hides the cute owl

A patchwork tree with buttons sewn on easily transformed into a flowering

I sewed these little ones just for fun. They seemed playing with each other

Doll was quite easy to sew. It is tiny as Thumbelina

Little doll and her skirts

And these are pages of Day and Night. On each of them I sewed small house where doll lives. Doors open with hooks and eyes (for left and right handed)

In the Day house there is a table for the doll
In the Day house there is a table for the doll
At Night house there is a bed-pocket
At the Night house there is a bed-pocket

For a game with velcro I sewed these funny sheep. The kid can remove sheep’s coats and attach them instead of clouds

And this is a pocket for the little doll and her skirts. Also there can be folded anything the kid wants

Finished pages I placed in order and sewed them together

The book cover and the spine were made in such a way

I also sewed ribbon to tie the book. I think it is very cute, especially for girls

The result is such Quiet Books for little girl Daria 🙂 xoxo

Leave a Reply

